Shaft Sinking Operation | Remote Mine Power | Aggreko

Power for Shaft Sinking Operation at a Copper and Gold Mine

Ivanhoe mine, Mongolia

The Ivanhoe Mine required a reliable power supply during the construction phase of the Oyu Tolgoi mine, projected to be the second largest copper and gold mine in the world when completed. The site, in the middle of the Gobi Desert in Mongolia, is one of the most remote places on earth with very harsh climatic conditions featuring both dust and snowstorms with temperatures ranging from – 40°C to + 30°C. With no utility power available during the early stages of the project, the client needed reliable temporary power to carry out shaft sinking operations to facilitate underground mining.

Aggreko Solution

Aggreko supplied a 6MW / 10kV temporary power package that included diesel generators, transformers, cables, panels and other ancillary items to power the hoists for sinking shafts into the ground. Aggreko’s contract included the design, supply, installation, commissioning and operation of the power plant to provide a complete turnkey solution. Aggreko’s engineers configured the equipment to withstand and operate in the harsh environment that blew dust in summer and snow in winter.

Why was Aggreko Selected?

Aggreko worked with the client from the feasibility stage of the project to understand the specific requirements of the contract. Through its previous contracts in the mining sector, Aggreko demonstrated its experience and technical capability to engineer and operate a reliable and uninterrupted power supply under some of the harshest climatic conditions in the world.

Alimentation électrique pour le fonçage d'un puits à une mine d’or

Alimentation électrique pour le fonçage d'un puits à une mine d’or et de cuivre

Ivanhoe mine, Mongolie

Ivanhoe Mine avait besoin d’une alimentation électrique fiable lors de la phase de construction de la mine Oyu Tolgoi, qui devrait être la deuxième plus grande mine de cuivre et d'or dans le monde. Le site, situé au milieu du désert de Gobi en Mongolie, est l’un des endroits les plus éloignés du monde avec des conditions climatiques hostiles, que ce soit des tempêtes de neige ou de sable et des températures variant entre – 40 °C à +30 °C. Comme le client n’avait aucune alimentation électrique fiable aux premiers stades du projet, il en avait besoin d’une qui pouvait permettre le fonçage d’un puits afin de faciliter la mine souterraine.

La solution d’Aggreko

Aggreko fournit une centrale autonome préfabriquée temporaire de 6 mégawatts/10 Kilovolts, dont des générateurs diésel, transformateurs, câbles, panneaux et autre équipement auxiliaires pour alimenter les appareils de levage du puits sous terre. Le contrat d’Aggreko comprenait entre autres la conception, la fourniture, l’installation, la mise en service et le fonctionnement de l’alimentation électrique afin de fournir une solution clé en main. Les ingénieurs d’Aggreko configurèrent l’équipement afin qu’il résiste et fonctionne parfaitement dans cet environnement hostile qui souffle du sable en été et de la neige en hiver.

Pourquoi avoir choisi Aggreko?

Aggreko travailla conjointement dès le départ avec le client concernant la faisabilité du projet afin de bien comprendre les exigences spécifiques liées à ce contrat. Grâce à ses expériences antérieures dans le secteur minier, Aggreko a su démontrer sa vaste expérience et ses capacités techniques dans la conception et le fonctionnement d’une alimentation électrique ininterrompue, et ce, dans l’un des environnements les plus hostiles du monde.